Rhodes Scholarships

The Rhodes Scholarship programme is the oldest (established 1903), and perhaps the most prestigious, international scholarship programme in the world. Administered by the Rhodes Trust in Oxford, the programme offers more than 100 fully-funded Scholarships each year for postgraduate study at the University of Oxford in the UK – one of the world’s leading universities. Selection Committees for the Scholarships are looking for young leaders of outstanding intellect and character who are motivated to engage with global challenges, committed to the service of others and show promise of becoming value-driven, principled leaders for the world’s future.

Each year, there are nine Scholarships available for Australia. The first Australian Rhodes Scholars took up residence in Oxford in 1904, and since that time many hundreds of Australians have been awarded the Scholarship.

Of the nine scholarships available each year in Australia, each state offers one Scholarship that is awarded by a selection committee of seven members (including three Rhodes Scholars) based in the state. In addition, there are three Australia-at-Large Scholarships awarded by a selection committee based in Canberra. This selection committee will consider applicants from the ACT and other territories of the Commonwealth, as well as those candidates nominated by state selection committees. Please note that applicants cannot apply directly to Australia-at-Large.

Scholarship details

Value: $45,000 approx. total

Duration: Duration of the program

Availability: 9 scholarships offered

Application dates


Open: 01/07/2021
Close: 10/09/2021


This scholarship is for:

Academic merit

Areas of study:

  • Any Area of Study

At Institution:

  • Other

Study level:

  • Postgraduate coursework
  • Postgraduate research

Study Load:

  • Full Time
  • Part Time


  • Overseas

Eligibility Criteria

Nationality/citizenship: You must be an Australian citizen who has been resident in Australia for at least two of the last ten years.
Education/residency: You must have completed at least two years of schooling at an Australian secondary school.

Age: You must have reached your 19th and not have passed your 26th birthday on 1 October 2021, which means you must have been born after 30 September 1993 and on or before 1 October 2001. 

Academic achievement: You will have completed the requirements of an Australian Bachelor Honours degree (Australian Qualifications Framework level 8) or Australian Masters degree (Australian Qualifications level 9 or 9E) or international equivalent with a proficiency level of first class honours or an equivalent mark of distinction for Masters students by no later than 15 June 2021.

How to Apply

Prospective applicants from Australia should carefully review the Information for Candidates specific for Australia.

Please note that, as Australia’s international border will remain closed throughout 2021, applicants who are living outside Australia will not be required to participate in-person in the selection process in 2021.

They should then contact their State or Territory Honorary Secretary to discuss their eligibility to apply, and for general information on the preparation of applications and the selection of referees.

Further Information

See Guidance for Referees and Courses Covered information documents via More & apply.